Time Zone: Seven hours ahead of U.S. Eastern Standard Time (GMT + 2)

Area: 92,043 sq. miles (238,391 sq. km) - a little larger than the state of Minnesota

Flag of Romania: Three vertical stripes: blue, yellow and red.

Climate: Temperate, four distinct seasons, similar to northeastern USA


Capital: Bucharest ( București --- pronunciation: boo koo re sh tea )

Form of State: Romania is a semi-presidential democracy based on a bicameral Parliament the Chamber of Representatives or "Chamber of Deputies" (Camera Deputatilor) and the Senate (Senat).  All members of the legislature are directly elected from Romania's 41 counties.

Under the semi-presidential system, the president is responsible for foreign and defense policy and controls appointments of prosecutors and the judiciary.


Legal system: Based on European models and Constitution of 1991.

Electoral System: Universal direct suffrage over the age of 18. Parties must win at least five percent of the national vote to gain

representation in the Parliament.


National Elections: Fall 2019 (presidential), Fall 2020 (parliamentary).

Head of State: President of the Republic, currently Mr. Klaus Werner Iohannis (elected on November 16, 2014). Romania's president can serve two consecutive five-year terms.

National Government: The government is led by the Prime Minister, nominated by the political party - or political alliance - with parliamentary majority, approved by the President of Romania and confirmed by the Parliament. The present Government has been nominated by the political alliance formed by the Social Democratic Party (PSD), and the Liberal-Democratic Alliance (ALDE)..


Head of the Government: the Prime Minister, currently Mrs. Viorica Dancila. (appointed: January 2018).

Main political parties, represented in Romania's Parliament following the December 11, 2016

elections:  Social Democratic Party (PSD), National Liberal Party (PNL), The Union for Romania (USR), Democratic Union of Hungarian Ethnics in Romania (UDMR), Liberal-Democratic Alliance (ALDE), Popular Movement Party (PMP).


Regional Government: Forty-one County Councils (Consiliu Judeţean).

Romania is a member state of the European Union (EU) and North Atlantic Treaty

Organization (NATO).

*Taken from www.romaniatourism.com

For more fun and interesting facts about Romania visit:  http://romaniatourism.com/did-you-know.html